## Judith Iriarte-Gross and Garon Smith Honored with Bennett Awards



The William E. Bennett Award for Extraordinary Contributions to Citizen Science was established by NCSCE and named in honor of its first recipient for his lifetime contributions to citizen science. The first award was presented to its namesake at a ceremony on Capitol Hill on March 31, 2009. Since then, the William E. Bennett Award is awarded annually to individuals and/or teams whose SENCER and other related activities have made exemplary and extraordinary contributions to citizen science.

This year, we honored two longtime members of the SENCER community, Drs. Judith Iriarte-Gross of Middle Tennessee State University, and Garon Smith, recently retired from the University of Montana. Both have made lasting impacts on their universities, communities, students, and colleagues with their dedication to improving STEM education and engaging students.

MTSU Chemistry and Physical Science professor Dr. Judith Iriarte-Gross received the William E. Bennett award. She was honored this award due to her involvement in the SENCER community. The SENCER models are curricular approaches to improving science learning and supporting engagement with complex issues. Through the "lens" of a matter or set of matters of public consequence, a SENCER model course or program teaches science that is both challenging and rigorous.